Of water-wolves, fire and bears

Northern Pike

July 2014 .  Canada

Martin Sack

Actually it was never really getting dark in the artic summer. Above the black, pillared spruces the disappearing sun was standing for long time very deep until vanishing completely behind them for short time. It was almost midnight, and whereas Claudia and Jeff were already sleeping in their tents, I wanted to finish the tag by some relaxing casts from the bank. I casted again the shad to a promising edge of a weed bed, twitched it a couple of times through the water, felt the heavy impact at the lure and set the hook. The pike started to move sedately. As I forced the fish to the surface near at the shore, it was fighting with full power again, jumped completely out of the water and started so some last, heavy escapes. In the warmer water with much current the pikes were in best condition and showed an extraordinary endurance. Then my hand grabbed behind the gill cover, I removed the hook and arranged the measure tape. With a length of 1,15m this was the biggest pike of my life, which I released without a photo in the water – by a longer handling alone at the rocky bank the fish maybe would have get needlessly injured. I was warmed up a little bit, and that made the millions of mosquitos glad, which were attacking in the darkest hours of the night extra avidly everything which is owning blood. We have still been adapted to thinks, which had appeared two weeks ago as the unbelievable madness. Only in the last two hours I could outwit at my small foot excursion fife trophies and some short under! Now it was also for me time to find some sleep, because the following day on the boat would be arduous again. On the other side of the river something was moving in the wood. I was standing still and calm, observing what was coming out there. It was a wolf, which looked short time to me and then walked on at the river bank. In difference to the bears they were less interested to swin across the river and look in our camp for some food. Eased I walked back to the tent and felt asleep after some seconds.

At my first pike tour 2012 to Canada we caught an amazing amount of pikes, but a disappointing number of trophies. This tour had other targets- we wanted to find out if it´s possible to catch hundred pikes more than 1m in twelve days. Thereby we don´t wanted to fish at a lodge, with regulated eight our guided fishing day, breakfast, warm lunch and much comfortable cottage. But rather be in remote wilderness, far away from civilization and other fishing boats and only responsible for our own. One year Claudia and I planned with the Canadian Jeff a private expedition, which even for him would be the longest and most exiting venture. We planned to advance also to places where even Jeff never had been before and where maybe nobody ever had fished!

The sun appeared as a violet-red ball at the sky. The day had occulted, although we had noon. We stalked with our full loaded boat through small channels and over wide lakes. For that Jeffs boat was equipped with a further small outboard motor, because cards with information of the depth of these waters were not existing. Everywhere could appear dangerous shallows. After some time breathing was getting nasty, and sometimes ash was falling down on us. The woods around us were disappearing in the dense wades of smoke. Canada faced in this warm and dry summer a bushfire season outmatching everything before. Caused by the global warming the perma-frost soil had declined measurable – the cooling effect of the ground was staying away more often. This fanned the flames onward, which were not to extinguish and were feeding many weeks or month through the woods. Some of them were grow to real monsters and were immerging the land in a circle of many kilometers in a dense grey. As soon as we drove in one of the columns of smoke, the sunny day was getting haunting gloomy. But when the fire was in direction of the wind of us, we had free sight and could watch sometimes to mammoth smoke clouds at the horizon. One week before our start Jeff had hidden at some way points jerry cans and bear barrels with food. That way we could attain the range of our expedition. With the changing wind directions also the moving directions of the bushfires were unpredictable, and we hoped every time, that none of our depots in the meantime had been a victim of the flames. But at this move to a new fishing area everything was fine, we build up at the evening out tents, prepared some canned food instead of fish and tried to sleep in the stuffy grey. As we woke up the next morning and brewed our morning coffee, the wind had turned. The sky was blue and a new water section invited us to fish.

Slowly the e-motor was moving us forward over the weed bed. We had so save the battery as much as possible, but for these situations it was necessary. The clear water under us was interspersed with long tendrils, and some of them reached the surface. We dipped our rubber lures vertical up and down in the gaps. As Claudia started to change the spot and lifted the lure a little bit out of the water, a big trophy was following the lure and was jumping after direct at our boot – and with half of the length out of the water! Jeff and I were exited in the same way and also dropped our lures, but the pike was still spooked. Unbelievable how effective and fascinating this method was. We faced attacks on shortest distance, trophies which were following other already hooked big pikes, taking aggressively a second lure and then made much action direct at and under the boat. It was all the times grand moments, when the big pikes suddenly appeared out of the nothing and inhaled our lures in less than a second. One time a big lady bite a smaller pike, which was hooked on my shad, and spit it out close to the boat. Sometimes we caught trophy after trophy, and it could get very hectic on board when our “pike factory” was running on full speed! The fishing was much diversified, and we often had to adapt our tactic and fishing methods to the different water types and weather influences, to keep on catching all the time. So we casted to shallow waters at the shore, fished in faster current, top water over weed beds, vertical also in deeper water or were jigging at the ground. Especially in the middle of our tour we found some spots with mind-blowing average sizes, where we could outwit daily some fat big pikes around 1,20m. Claudia completed this monster pike session with a very fat lady of 1,24m, which should stay the biggest fish of our trip. In the following days we experienced more memorable moments and caught at the last day crazy 32 trophies!

Especially interesting were also two different pike color mutations, which were very rare and not explored much. So we could catch several silver pikes up to 1,20m, which were identifiable by the silver-blue color without a distinctive pattern. The italian pikes (Esox Lucius flaviae) in contrast where spotted and colored in great contrasts – our biggest species of 1,12m was a real beauty.

Among the pikes we found more exiting fish species. At some spots we could catch some walleyes, when the lure was running close to the bottom. But our highest interest was in the very rare inconnus. This member of the salmons can grow up to 1,5m and 25kg and is looking more than a tarpon as a trout, also especially because of the mouth. And this was also the way they fought in the hard current – wild turning around and nearly not possible to fight them until they were exhausted. It was not so easy to calm them for a short photo. The most time inconnus are living in the ocean and mowing upstream the rivers many thousand kilometers for spawning, like salmons. We were very happy to find one of these rivers at the right time and so many of these wild fighters up to 0,97m attacked our lures!

In our waters existed no salmons. That made the surviving for the black and grizzly bears harder, and they had to be more creative by finding food. About that Claudia was recognizing, as she walked alone at the evening to the bush toilet, only armed with bear spray, and stood suddenly direct in front of a black bear. We all learned the use of the shotgun and rifle, because here everyone was responsible for each other. But the weapons now were stored in the tent. Fortunately the bear was more interested in all the berries, and Jeff could banish him with two warn shots of the shotgun. We will keep in memory for sure how the bear was rising on two legs behind a rock and bushes and had a last view down in our tent camp. This was our only incident, which luckily had a good end for human and animal. We always were anxious to avoid these meetings, washed all cans, stored all rubbish and food air tight and camped only at spots, which were not on the natural routs of the bears. Nevertheless we often kept an eye on the woods, because the bears had also the stupid preference to eat fuel tubes of the boat!

While Jeff was fishing with heavy muskie rods and big baits like the real eel, Claudia and I focused on our Trophy Shads of 15cm. These relative small pike lures made it possible to fish with our light Antares spinning rods with a casting weight up to 50g. Unbelievable how we could torture these sensitive rods! Because of all the rocks and the heavy abrasion we fished only with heavy braided main lines minimum 0,28mm, titanium leaders of 40kg, steel of 24kg and fluo carbon of minimum 0,90mm. Furthermore we placed only one owner treble hook size 1 without barbs on the back of our shads. So it was possible to injure the pikes on a minimum level, and even the attacks of smaller pikes lead to a good hooking rate. We handled all “photo pikes” in the same way: Remove the hook in the water, let the pike relax in the water inside of the pike cradle, prepare the camera, take the pike out of the cradle, measure length on the measuring board, make photos and release. That was all pikes were not out of the water more than 20 seconds!

A better test tour for our Trophy Shads could surely not exist. So we tested parallel all decors and confirmed our color theory impressively: When the sun was very deep and at bushfire Mr. Pink was catching god, then Dark Water Sun was convincing over a wide spectrum of twilight. At daylight Claudia preferred the White-Machine and I the Wild Honey, when we had much sun it was time for the Glamour Herring and our special decors Sexy Shad and Lady M. To complete the international exchange Jeff caught with our german flag decor some big pikes.

After twelve days in the wilderness it was hard to say goodbye. We had experienced things which we could understand only with a little bit distance. For me this expedition was after twenty years of pike fishing the absolutely coronation, for Jeff the longest trophy pike orgy in a row and for Claudia a very awesome start to the targeted big pike fishing. So we finished our Tour with a total of 176 pikes more than 1m and outmatched with that result all our bravest dreams!

 

Statistic

Angler: Claudia, Jeff, Martin

Fishes in total: 483

Pikes in total: 388

Pikes more than 1m: 176

Inconnus: 64 (up to 0.97m)

Walleyes: 31 (up to 0.5m)

Pike statistic in days  (lengthe in m):

1.Day:9

1.22 1.11 - 1.08 - 1.05 - …

2.Day:22

1.13 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 – 1.10 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.01 - 1.00 – …

3.Day:41

1.16 - 1.11 - 1.08 - 1.08 - 1.05 - 1.05 - …

4.Day:22

1.13 - 1.05 - 1.03 - 1.01 - …

5.Day:27

1.24 - 1.19 - 1.19 - 1.16 - 1.17 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

6.Day:27

1.21 - 1.20 - 1.19 - 1.19 - 1.18 - 1.18 - 1.16 - 1.15  - 1.11 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.03 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

7.Day:12

1.22 - 1.17 - 1.17 - 1.14 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.04 - 1.03 - …

8.Day:19

1.20 - 1.18 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.06 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.02 - 1.02 – …

9.Day:34

1.24 - 1.20 - 1.09 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

10.Day:69

1.18 - 1.14 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.01 – 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

11.Day:40

1.15 - 1.15 - 1.14 - 1.14 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.07 – 1.06 - 1.04 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.02 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

12.Day:66

1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

Travel Quote

Von Wasser-Wölfen, Feuer und Bären

Hecht

Juli 2014 .  Kanada

Martin Sack

Eigentlich wurde es im arktischen Sommer nie richtig dunkel. Über den schwarzen, säulenförmigen Fichten stand die untergehende Sonne noch lange Zeit sehr flach, bis sie kurzzeitig komplett hinter ihnen verschwand. Es war fast Mitternacht, und während Claudia und Jeff sich bereits in ihre Zelte zurückgezogen hatten, ließ ich den Tag in aller Ruhe bei ein paar Würfen vom Ufer ausklingen. Ich warf den Gummifisch erneut an eine erfolgversprechenden Krautkante, zupfte ihn ein paar Mal durchs Wasser, spürte den dumpfen Einschlag am Köder und setzte den Anhieb. Behäbig setzte sich der Hecht in Bewegung. Als ich ihn in Ufernähe ins Oberflächenwasser brachte, drehte er noch einmal richtig auf, sprang in voller Länge aus dem Wasser und setzte zu mehreren letzten, kraftvollen Fluchten an. Im wärmeren, fließenden Wasser waren die Hechte in absoluter Bestform und besaßen eine ungewohnt zähe Ausdauer. Dann fasste meine Hand hinter den Kiemendeckel, ich löste den Haken und setzte kurz das Maßband an. Mit 1,15m sollte es der größte Hecht meines Lebens sein, den ich ohne Foto wieder zurück ins Wasser setzte – beim weiteren Handling ganz allein am felsigen Ufer hätte sich der Fisch möglicherweise unnötig verletzt. Mir war warm geworden, und darüber erfreuten sich die Millionen von Mücken, die sich in der dunkelsten Phase der Nacht besonders gierig über alles, was Blut besaß, hermachten. Man hatte sich bereits an Dinge gewöhnt, die noch vor zwei Wochen der unvorstellbare Wahnsinn gewesen wären. Allein in den letzten beiden Stunden konnte ich auf meiner kleinen Fußexkursion nochmal fünf Meterhechte und einige knapp darunter überlisten! Nun war auch für mich die Zeit für ein wenig Schlaf gekommen, denn der folgende Tag auf dem Boot würde wieder anstrengend werden. Auf der anderen Seite des Flusses bewegte sich etwas im Wald. Ich blieb ruhig stehen und beobachte, was dort zum Vorschein kam. Es war ein Wolf, der mich kurz anblickte und dann am Ufer weiter entlang streifte. Im Gegensatz zu den Bären waren sie weniger daran interessiert, durch den Fluss zu schwimmen und in unserem Camp nach Essbaren zu suchen. Erleichtert machte ich mich auf zum Zelt und schlief in wenigen Sekunden ein.

Bei meiner ersten Hechttour 2012 nach Kanada hatten wir zwar unglaublich viele, aber doch enttäuschend wenig größere Hechte gefangen. Diese Tour hatte andere Ziele – wir wollten herausfinden, ob man in zwölf Tagen hundert Meterhechte fangen konnte. Dabei wollten wir nicht von einer Lodge aus angeln, mit geregeltem Acht-Stunden-Guiding-Angeltag, Frühstück, warmen Abendessen und komfortabler Hütte. Sondern in absoluter Wildnis, fernab jeglicher Zivilisation und anderer Angelboote und nur auf uns allein gestellt. Ein Jahr lang planten Claudia und ich mit dem Kanadier Jeff eine private Expedition, welche auch für ihn das bisher aufregendste und längste Wagnis werden sollte. Wir bereiteten uns darauf vor, auch in Gebiete vorzudringen, in denen auch Jeff noch nie gewesen war und welche möglicherweise noch nie zuvor beangelt worden waren!

Die Sonne stand als violett-roter Ball am Himmel. Der Tag hatte sich verdunkelt, obwohl wir Mittag hatten. Wir pirschten uns mit unserm voll beladenen Boot durch kleine Kanäle und über große Seen. Jeffs Boot war dazu mit einem weiteren Benzin-Hilfsmotor ausgestattet, denn Kartenmaterial mit Tiefenangaben gab es für diese Gewässer nicht. Überall konnten gefährliche Untiefen lauern. Nach einiger Zeit fiel das Atmen schwer, und manchmal regnete Asche auf uns herab. Die Wälder um uns herum versanken in dichten Rauchschwaden. Kanada erlebte in diesem warmen und trockenen Sommer eine Waldbrandsaison nie dagewesenen Ausmaßes. Bedingt durch die Klimaerwärmung hatte der Permafrostboden in den letzten Jahren messbar abgenommen – der kühlende Effekt des Bodens blieb somit immer öfter aus. Das fachte die Feuer weiter an, die nicht zu löschen waren und sich bis zu mehrere Wochen und Monate durch die Waldlandschaft fraßen. Manche von ihnen waren zu wahren Monstern heran gewachsen und tauchten im Umkreis von vielen Kilometern die Landschaft in dichtes Grau. Sobald wir in eine der Rauchsäulen fuhren, wurde der sonnige Tag gespenstisch finster. Befand sich der Brand jedoch in Windrichtung von uns, hatten wir freie Sicht und blickten zum Teil auf gigantische Rauchsäulen am Horizont. Eine Woche vor unserer Anreise hatte Jeff an einigen Wegpunkten Benzinkanister und Proviant in bärensichern Tonnen versteckt. So konnten wir die Reichweite unserer Expedition ermöglichen. Mit den wechselnden Windrichtungen waren auch die Zugrouten der Waldbrände unvorhersehbar, und wir hofften jedes Mal, dass keines unserer Depots in der Zwischenzeit den Flammen zum Opfer gefallen war. Doch bei diesem Wechsel zu einem neuen Angelrevier ging alles gut, wir schlugen am Abend unsere Zelte auf, bereiteten statt Fisch nur fix etwas aus der Dose zu und versuchten im stickigen Grau einzuschlafen. Als wir am nächsten Tag aufwachten und den morgendlichen Kaffee kochten, hatte der Wind gedreht. Der Himmel war blau, und ein neuer Gewässerabschnitt lud uns zum Angeln ein.

Gemächlich trieb uns der E-Motor über das Krautfeld voran. Wir mussten mit der Batterie sparsam umgehen, aber für genau diese Momente war sie unerlässlich. Das klare Wasser unter uns war von langen Krautfahnen durchsetzt, welche zum Teil bis an die Oberfläche ragten. Wir tunkten unsere Gummiköder vertikal in den Lücken auf und ab. Als Claudia ihren Köder gerade umsetzen wollte und etwas aus dem Wasser hob, folgte ein fetter Meterhecht dem Köder und sprang ihm direkt an der Bordwand hinterher – und in halber Länge aus dem Wasser! Jeff und ich erschraken gleichermaßen und ließen auch unsere Gummis absinken, doch der Hecht war bereits geflüchtet. Unglaublich, wie effektiv und spannend diese Methode war. Wir erlebten Bisse auf Sicht und kürzester Distanz, Meterhechte, die bereits gehakten Großhechten aggressiv folgten, auf einen zweiten Kunstköder hereinfielen und dann beim Drill vor und unter dem Boot einiges an Fingerspitzengefühl abverlangten. Es waren immer wieder grandiose Momente, wenn die großen Hechte plötzlich aus dem Nichts auftauchten und blitzschnell unsere Köder inhalierten. Einmal vergriff sich eine große Dame an einem kleineren Hecht der an meinem Gummifisch hing, und ließ ihn erst kurz vor dem Boot wieder los. Manchmal folgte Meterhecht auf Meterhecht, und es konnte an Bord schon mal sehr hektisch zugehen, wenn unsere „Pike Factory“ auf Hochtouren lief! Das Angeln war sehr abwechslungsreich, und wir mussten oft unsere Taktik und Angelmethode den Gewässertypen und Wetterbedingungen anpassen, um ständig am Fisch zu bleiben. So warfen wir flachere Uferbereiche an, angelten in schnellerer Strömung, im Oberflächenwasser über Kraut, fischten vertikal auch in größeren Tiefen oder jiggten den Grund ab. Besonders in der Mitte unserer Tour fanden wir Spots mit besonders erstaunlichen Durchschnittsgrößen, wobei wir täglich einige kräftig gebaute Großhechte um 1,20m überlisten konnten. Claudia beendete diese Monsterhechtserie mit einer besonders fetten Dame von 1,24m, welche der größte Fisch unseres Trips werden sollte. In den folgenden Tagen erlebten wir weitere denkwürdige Momente und fingen am letzten Tag unglaubliche 32 Meterhechte!

Besonders interessant waren auch die zwei unterschiedlichen Hecht-Farbmutationen, die äußerst selten auftauchten und welche noch nicht ausreichend erforscht waren. So konnten wir mehrere Silberhechte bis 1,20m fangen, welche durch ihre silber-bläuliche Färbung ohne markante Muster zu erkennen waren. Die italienischen Hechte (Esox Lucius flaviae) hingegen waren besonders kontrastreich gefärbt und gefleckt – unser größtes Exemplar von 1,12m war eine wahre Schönheit.

Neben den Hechten gab es noch weitere sehr spannende Fischarten. An einigen Spots konnten wir mehrere Walleyes fangen, sobald der Köder nah am Grund lief. Unser besonderes Interesse galt jedoch den sehr seltenen Inconnus. Diese Salmoniedenart kann bis zu 1,5m und 25kg schwer werden und erinnert in seinem Aussehen, ganz besonders auch durch sein Maul, eher an einen Tarpon als an eine Forelle. Und so kämpften sie auch in der harten Strömung – wild um sich schlagend und kaum auszudrillen. Es war gar nicht so einfach, sie für ein kurzes Foto zu besänftigen. Die meiste Zeit leben Inconnus im Meer und ziehen mehrere tausend Kilometer, wie die Lachse, die Flüsse zum Laichen hinauf. Wir waren sehr froh, dass wir einen solchen Fluss zur richtigen Zeit erwischten und konnten viele dieser wilden Kämpfer bis 97cm auf unsere Kunstköder überlisten!

In unseren Gewässern gab es keine Lachse. Das machte das Überleben für die Schwarz- und Grizzlybären härter, und sie mussten kreativer in der Nahrungsbeschaffung sein. Genau das ging Claudia durch den Kopf, als sie abends auf dem Weg zur Buschtoilette allein im Wald, zum Schutz nur das Bärenspray dabei, einem Schwarzbären gegenüber stand. Am Anfang der Tour hatten wir den Umgang mit der Shotgun und dem Gewehr gelernt, denn hier war jeder für den anderen verantwortlich. Doch die Waffen lagen nun im Zelt. Zum Glück interessierte sich der Bär mehr für die vielen Beeren, und Jeff konnte ihn mit zwei Warnschüssen mit der Shotgun vertreiben. Uns wird ganz gewiss in Erinnerung bleiben, wie sich der Bär nochmal hinter einem Felsen und Büschen auf zwei Beine stellte und in unser Zelt-Camp herab blicke. Das war unser einziger Zwischenfall, der zum Glück für Mensch und Tier gut ausgegangen ist. Wir waren immer bemüht, solchen Begegnungen entgegen zu wirken, wuschen alle Dosen aus, verpackten alle Lebensmittel und allen Abfall luftdicht und zelteten an Spots, die nicht auf natürlichen Wanderrouten von Bären lagen. Dennoch hielten wir nachts oft Ausschau, denn die Bären hatten auch die dumme Vorliebe, Benzinschläuche von Booten aufzufressen!

Während Jeff mit schweren Muskieruten und Großködern wie dem Real Eel fischte, gaben Claudia und ich fast ausschließlich unseren Trophy Shads von 15cm den Vorzug. Diese relativ kleinen Hechtköder brachten absolut nicht weniger Großhechte ans Band und erlaubten es uns, mit den leichten Antares-Spinnruten mit Wurfgewicht bis 50g zu fischen. Unglaublich, wie man diese Rütchen quälen konnte! Wegen all der Felsen und der brachialen Abnutzung fischten wir jedoch mit Hauptschnüren von mindestens 0,28mm, Titan von 40kg, Stahlgeflecht von 24kg und Fluocarbon ab 0,90mm. Darüber hinaus bestückten wir alle Gummifische mit nur einem Owner-Drilling Größe 1 ohne Wiederhaken auf dem Rücken. So konnten wir die Verletzungen der Hechte auf ein Minimum reduzieren, und selbst bei kleinen Hechten gab es mit dieser Montage so gut wie keine Fehlbisse. Wir behandelten alle „Fotohechte“ nach der gleichen Prozedur: Im Wasser abhaken, in der Hecht-Cradle im Wasser zwischenparken, in Ruhe Fotokamera bereit machen, Hecht aus der Cradle holen, auf die Maßschablone legen, Fotos schießen und releasen. So waren alle Hechte nicht länger als 20 Sekunden aus dem Wasser!

Eine bessere Test-Tour konnte es für unsere Trophy Shads ganz sicher nicht geben. So fischen wir parallel alle Farbdekore und dabei ließ sich unsere Farbtheorie sehr eindrucksvoll bestätigen: Bei ganz flach stehender Sonne und bei Waldbrand war der Mr. Pink sehr fängig, danach deckte der Dark Water Sun ein weites Dämmerungs-Spektrum ab. Am Tag fischte Claudia am liebsten den White Machine und ich den Wild Honey, bei sehr sonnigem Wetter kamen der Glamour Herring und unsere Special-Dekore Sexy Shad und Lady M erfolgreich zum Einsatz. Um den internationalen Austausch zu vervollständigen, überließen wir Jeff die Deutschland-Flaggen-Gummis, der damit auch den einen oder anderen Großhecht fing.

Nach zwölf Tagen in der Wildnis fiel uns der Abschied schwer. Wir hatten Dinge erlebt, die wir erst mit etwas Abstand so richtig begreifen konnten. Für mich war diese Expedition nach zwanzig Jahren Hechtangeln die absolute Krönung, für Jeff die bisher längste Meterhecht- und Campingorgie am Stück und für Claudia ein sehr denkwürdiger Einstieg in die gezielte Großhechtangelei. So konnten wir unsere Tour mit insgesamt 176 Meterhechten beenden und übertrafen damit bei weitem all unsere kühnsten Träume!

 

Statistik

Angler: Claudia, Jeff, Martin

Fische gesamt: 483

Hechte: 388

Hechte über 1m: 176

Inconnus: 64 (bis 0.97m)

Walleyes: 31 (um 0.5m)

Hechtstatistik nach Tagen (Länge in m):

1.Tag:9

1.22 1.11 - 1.08 - 1.05 - …

2.Tag:22

1.13 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 – 1.10 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.01 - 1.00 – …

3.Tag:41

1.16 - 1.11 - 1.08 - 1.08 - 1.05 - 1.05 - …

4.Tag:22

1.13 - 1.05 - 1.03 - 1.01 - …

5.Tag:27

1.24 - 1.19 - 1.19 - 1.16 - 1.17 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

6.Tag:27

1.21 - 1.20 - 1.19 - 1.19 - 1.18 - 1.18 - 1.16 - 1.15  - 1.11 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.03 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

7.Tag:12

1.22 - 1.17 - 1.17 - 1.14 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.04 - 1.03 - …

8.Tag:19

1.20 - 1.18 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.06 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.02 - 1.02 – …

9.Tag:34

1.24 - 1.20 - 1.09 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - …

10.Tag:69

1.18 - 1.14 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.01 – 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

11.Tag:40

1.15 - 1.15 - 1.14 - 1.14 - 1.13 - 1.13 - 1.12 - 1.12 - 1.11 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.07 – 1.06 - 1.04 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.02 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

12.Tag:66

1.12 - 1.11 - 1.10 - 1.10 - 1.09 - 1.09 - 1.08 - 1.08 - 1.07 - 1.07 - 1.06 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.05 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.04 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.03 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.02 - 1.01 - 1.01 - 1.00 - 1.00 - 1.00 - …

Zum Reiseangebot